British Turf & Landscape Irrigation Association

Select to go to our home page
Select for Membership information
Select to find out how to apply for Membership
Select for a list of BTLIA members
Select for Education and Training
Select for Health and Safety
Select for Enquiry Form
Select for Links to other sites
Our sponsors and partners:


BTLIA Awards and Certificates of Merit

The Association presents three annual Awards.

The Certificate of Merit

This award is given to those member-contracting companies who have attained the appropriate level of commendation from their customers, and a rigorous procedure is followed:

  1. We send off a questionnaire to the clients. This is orientated towards assessment of the Member company's approach to the contract and their commitment to providing the highest standards of professionalism, good system provision and general customer care and support.
  2. The client completes the questionnaire and returns it to us.
  3. We check the score achieved by the Member company.
  4. A Certificate of Merit is awarded only if a score of greater than 85% is achieved.

As you can see, this is a customer-orientated award, based on customer feedback.

Certificates of Merit awarded:

1997 M J Abbott Ltd
Ocmis Irrigation UK Ltd.
Prime Irrigation Ltd.
Watermation Sprinkler & Controls Ltd
1998 M J Abbott Ltd
Ocmis Irrigation UK Ltd.
1999 M J Abbott Ltd.
2000 Irrigation Control Ltd
SJS Irrigation
2001 M J Abbott Ltd
Irrigation Control Ltd
Par4 Irrigation Ltd
SJS Irrigation
2002 M J Abbott Ltd
SJS Irrigation
Irrigation Control Ltd
TIS (Scotland) Ltd

The Individual Achievement / Personality of the Year Award

This award is presented to the individual who has made a significant contribution to the industry.

1995 Robin M Hume Turf Irrigation Services Ltd
1996 W D 'Bill' Hawthorn Watermation Sprinkler & Controls Ltd
1997 Peter Roberts TIL Irrigation Ltd
1998 Paul de Rham Weather*matic Ltd
1999 Philip York York & Martin
2000 Glyn Prime Prime Irrigation Ltd.
2001 No Award  
2002 No Award  

The John P Shildrick Award*

This award commemorates John Shildrick's contribution to the Association as its Permanent Secretary. The award takes the form of books on the subject of irrigation; these are presented to the libraries of colleges and other organisations which have been instrumental in promoting good irrigation practice.

1995 Reaseheath College
Elmwood College
1996 Cannington College
Askham Bryan College
1997 British International Green Greenkeepers Association
Institute of Groundsmanship
1998 Merrist Wood College
Oaklands College
1999 British Golf Architects Association
Warwickshire College [Morton Morrell Campus]
2000 Writtle College
2001 Hadlow College
2002 Greenmount College

*John Shildrick was the Association's first Permanent Secretary, a role he fulfilled with great dedication and enthusiasm from his appointment in 1986 until his death in 1994. John was very well-known in the turfgrass industry and was one of its most highly respected individuals. He held the posts of deputy Director of the Sports Turf Research Institute and Chief Executive of the National Turfgrass Council.



The Secretary
41 Pennine Way
Great Eccleston

Tel: +44(0)1995 670675


All material in this website Copyright © the BTLIA, 2001 - 2004. All rights reserved. The BTLIA will use its best efforts to ensure the accuracy of the material but shall not be liable for any errors or omissions.All third-party Trade Marks acknowledged as the property of their respective owners.
Site designed and maintained for the BTLIA by Patience Design.